About that last blog…

Ok, as I’m typing this I’m realizing that it has been a while since the last blog. The Back to School Bash was, I’d say, a pretty good success! We had somewhere in the ballpark of 35 kids present. Ages were 2-ish to middle school. We had a blast with the bungee run, bounce house, and the sports events from the Liberty University trailer! I’d say the sumo suits were fun, but they add about another 50 pounds and 40 degrees (and it was hot enough already!) I gave a short (for their attention spans) Gospel presentation as well. The beginning of that reminded me that I’m glad I don’t have to be a professional cat-herder! But they sat down eventually and, for the most part, listened. All we can do is plant the seed and pray that God will grow it.

Anyway, if you read that blog and prayed for our event to go well, then I thank you. It’s another example that God answers our prayers.

We had a great start to our Awana program at Boones Mill Baptist last night, too. The kickoff party was falsely advertised as an attempt to make the world’s largest banana split… I think we did a good job shooting for Boones Mill’s largest, though! You know, massive quantities of ice cream tend to draw in a bit of a crowd, but I’m extremely thankful that God has had his hand over this Awana ministry. I’m excited about the chance that the leaders and the church have to reach out, disciple, and minister to these youngsters and their families!

No running news to speak of… I did a couple of miles yesterday with a pain in the rear. No, seriously, I fell playing ultimate frisbee on Tuesday. My rear had a pain in it… was that TMI? Have fun with the rest of the week!

Dave

Leave a Reply

