One for the Money, Two for the Show…

Oh, man…  did I just start quoting an Elvis tune in a blog title?  Unfortunately and sadly, yes.  That is due to the fact this is weekly blog numero dos, in my postaweek2011 challenge.  The start of seminary classes in a week will put my resolve to the test.  This much I can assure you- I will work to keep references to the sideburned-0ne away from my blog at all costs!  I can also assure you that I, indeed, own zero blue suede shoes.

A couple of interesting things happened this past week.  One cool thing is that James slept for 5 hours just last night!  Mind you, this was from 10:30 to 3:30 and he was up for an hour and a half afterwards… but it’s an accomplishment nonetheless!  Bad news, though, is that the little man has his first ear infection.  Visions of Mackenzie’s struggles are dancing, or should I say mosh pitting, in my head.  (Are there still mosh pits?  Have they become too tame in this wild and crazy world?  Or am I just old fashioned?)

 I ran across an interesting quote in my (pre-reading) for an upcoming LU seminary class.  It is from Dr. Elmer Towns, dean of the School of Religion at Liberty U, and he’s talking about recognizing the need for salvation.  He says, “You can’t get people saved until you get them lost.”  Unless people recognize the fact of sin in their lives, that it separates them from God, and that they need to be saved from it, we won’t be effective in bringing people to Christ.  He also mentions that even Christians, though they have accepted Jesus as their Savior, have a need to see what’s going on in their lives and for repentance.  To be honest, I don’t know why I felt the urge to put this on the blog… It could be that it just hit me, and I felt maybe it could impact someone else (which I guess is why people blog.  Duh!)  At any rate, that was something that made me think this week.  If I’ve learned anything in my Christian walk, it’s that I’m never “there”, and I’ve never “made it”. 

Until next week (or maybe before),

Dave

One thought on “One for the Money, Two for the Show…

  1. Good piece Dave. I wish you the best on your blogaweek2011 Challenge!! I am shooting for somewhat the same with my new blog at blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

