NeedMoWriMo…Yo!

I’ve already seen some things on Al Gore’s invention (aka the Internet) that are hyping up NaNoWriMo.  Some of you know what this is, some of you don’t.  At the same time, there is another group that started sweating, even as they read it!  NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month.  In this process, a person has to make a 50,000 word novel appear in the 30 days that make up November.  I’ve thought before that this would be pretty neat to try, then I realized that this is a sick, psychotic, twisted thing to do to yourself!  Therefore, I am going to be the champion of the everyman (or lady) and fight the government or whoever is in charge of this “National” thing.  Maybe Al Gore invented this, too…

I propose that there should be more WriMo’s from which people can choose.  I don’t know about you, friend, but coming up with 1700ish words per day and being a slave to a tyrannical (and self-imposed) deadline don’t sound like the best ways to spend November.  As a runner, I liken this to the craziness of an ultramarathon.  I’ve done a half (13.1 miles).  It wasn’t exactly a roll out of bed on the day of thing, but I was capable of completing it.  I can at least fathom what a marathon would be like (13.1 times 2, for the mathematically-challenged).  What I can’t understand is why you’d want to go further than 26.20001 miles!

Since I feel like I know so much and have Internet access, here are my suggestions:

NaShoStoWriMo (National Short Story Writing Month)  The entrant will write a short story every day for that month.  This is more do-able.

NaPoWriMo (National Poetry Writing Month)  A poem every day for a month.  And there needs to be a haiku limit… that’s kind of cheating.

NaHaNoWriMo (National Half-Novel Writing Month)  Write half of a novel in a month.  Seriously, this seems like a better way to do it.

NaTweeStoWriMo (National Tweet-Story Writing Month)  I’m dead serious about this one!  Write a story using one tweet per day… 140 characters.  I think this one would be every bit as challenging as the real deal!

Now, some of these sound like Indian names, while others sound like drinks to order from Starbucks.  My point is that these offer some alternatives to the current choice.  Maybe you’ll consider doing one of “my” WriMo’s.

Until next time!

2 thoughts on “NeedMoWriMo…Yo!

  1. NaNoWriMo isn’t for everybody, but describing it as “sick, psychotic, twisted thing to do to yourself!” is a bit over the top. When you run a race, you have a specifc area to cover, and you’re competing against others for the best time. NaNo isn’t a competition, though some people choose to think of it that way, and even enjoy “competing.” Others, me included, consider it a focused way to write the first draft of a novel. And if you’re used to writing, then 1,700 words a day isn’t really that much. I finished my first NaNo with some 70,000 words. Last year, I finished with 55,000 words, only because my computer died and I didn’t have a chance to write more.

    Anyway — I hope your post was meant to be humorous.

    • Yes, it was meant as a humor. (I try to look at most things with a little bit of humor!) In no way do I want to demean NaNoWriMo… I just think that for some folks it’s not a viable thing. Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

