Shedding Light

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately about what I should attempt to do with this blog.  Hopefully you’ve noticed some things have changed as you entered the site just now.  Yeah, that’s the whole “attempting to do” aspect!  I’ve called it “Dave’s Blog” for a while now.  While it may be true that it is my blog, I wanted to do something to make it something a little better than that.  I know, it was a lame title– I’m sensing that you are relieved because I came to this realization and you didn’t have to tell me!

When I started thinking about what I’ve been using the blog to do over the last several months, it became apparent to me that I needed to make it some tie in to the devotional quality I’ve aimed for.  The “light” of course is the light of Christ, who is the light of the world. (John 8:12)  But it’s also a play on words in that, hopefully, the posts are shedding some light.  See what I did there?  I also thought the graphic at the top of the page with the sunshine was snazzy as it was juxtaposed with the darkness below.  This is symbolic of our world walking around in the dark without Jesus.  I take no credit for the theme of the blog– I just found it and applied it.  But it’s cool, though.  Tell me it’s cool.  Or at least it’s better than the awe-inspiring “Dave’s Blog”!

I’m 100% on the devotionals being the focus of the blog.  They may or may not remain titled “Dave-otionals” as they have been.  I like the name because it’s pretty slick, but I want to make very sure that 0% of the glory is for me so I’m in prayer over that at the moment with that name.  I’m open to some suggestions, all of you loyal readers.  As far as other posts, I’m going to limit the content to that which points towards Christ.  My personal life is boring.  It definitely doesn’t merit entire blog posts.  I think Facebook and Twitter might be the better mediums for personal stuff.  I’ve still retained the links to those places, and the Twitter feed is still up on the blog.

Hope you enjoy the new look!  (And let me hear some feedback!)

3 thoughts on “Shedding Light

  1. Hi Dave,

    I just came across your site when searching for something on anxiety. It’s a topic that I’m seeking to write on, for my blog.

    What to do with your site? It appears you are off to a good start; you are asking or feedback. 🙂 However, I would encourage you to seek God’s input more than humans. What has God placed on your heart? Start from there.

    I had to do just that when creating Inspiration Point. I had to determine what is the best way to share my own blog posts or stories. Just keep pressing in.

  2. I must say that I am so proud of you, sweetheart! It has been (as it continues to be) so amazing to see God working in your life and the direction you are leading our family in. Mackenzie, James, and I are so blessed to have you! You are an amazing father, husband, and pastor :-). I love you! Keep Shedding Light for Christ and being an awesome inspiration for all of us!

Leave a Reply

